Florida law covers fraud in obtaining medical drugs including, heroin, morphine and mescaline. Under Florida law, a person is guilty of a crime if he falsely makes, alters or forges a prescription or passes, utters or publishes a forged prescription for the purpose of obtaining a drug. Such a violation is a misdemeanor of the second degree. A second or subsequent conviction is a misdemeanor of the first degree.
Under Florida law, a person may not “sell, manufacture, alter, deliver, utter or possess with intent to injure or defraud” any counterfeit-resistant prescription blanks for controlled substances. Prescription blanks refer to those that have not been completed and issued by a medical practitioner. A person guilty of such a violation commits a felony of the third degree.
Penalties for prescription fraud in Florida are as follows. A conviction for a misdemeanor of the second degree carries a penalty of imprisonment for 60 days and a fine of $500. Convictions for misdemeanors for the first degree carry a penalty of imprisonment for one year and a $1,000 fine. Crimes for prescription forgery that result in a felony of the third degree conviction carry a prison sentence of five years and $5,000 fine.